Blade from scraps

The knife I welded up from scrap pieces is forged, heat treated, polished, and etched in ferric chloride, a weak acid, to expose the pattern. I wanted a weird shape to match the strangeness of the pattern. I will send it to fellow bladesmith Matt Waters for a handle.

IMG_0607 IMG_0611 IMG_0612 IMG_0613

About Luke Shearer

I'm a Christian, a bladesmith, a student, an artist, a runner, and a bunch of other things. Above everything, I'm a Christian. I feel like, as professor Tolkien did, if I am a Christian and just do what I do (my art), the Gospel will pop up in all kinds of beautiful ways I cant even control. I don't feel there's a need for overt references to crosses or other symbols, as good as they are, in my work. I feel that, because God invented the whole universe, I am free to draw on pretty much anything, and if it's beautiful, it will reflect him. If the prime end of man is to glorify God and enjoy Him forever, it is my view that bladesmithing is just as good a way as any to do that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment