First sword

This blade was forged from 1075/1080, with fittings of mild steel. The grip is walnut with a historically accurate leather wrap. The blade is just under 24″ and, while I am not certain of the weight, it is very light. Perhaps just over 1 pound. Despite its small size, I have never held an object that could cut as well as this. I was able to get through a 3″ diameter pine in just a single cut. This sword will be for sale as soon as I do the final polish and perhaps make a scabbard.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Luke Shearer

I'm a Christian, a bladesmith, a student, an artist, a runner, and a bunch of other things. Above everything, I'm a Christian. I feel like, as professor Tolkien did, if I am a Christian and just do what I do (my art), the Gospel will pop up in all kinds of beautiful ways I cant even control. I don't feel there's a need for overt references to crosses or other symbols, as good as they are, in my work. I feel that, because God invented the whole universe, I am free to draw on pretty much anything, and if it's beautiful, it will reflect him. If the prime end of man is to glorify God and enjoy Him forever, it is my view that bladesmithing is just as good a way as any to do that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

